Tips on Subdividing a Property (North Carolina)

7 Replies

This is my first time subdividing a property, and would appreciate tips. The subject property is on 3.4 acres, with the main home and a mobile home. The previous owner had attempted to subdivide, but the mobile home was 4 feet too close to the main home to be allowed to subdivide the property. I'm going to remove the existing mobile home, and replace with a new MH that will be over the required line, so that I can then subdivide. Is the order to get the property surveyed, then to to the town, then go to the closing attorney (NC uses attorneys, not title companies, for closings)? Or, is there a different order or other steps to consider?

@Sean McDonnell Thanks for the quick response, Sean. I think that article was way above my pay grade (too complicated for what I need to know). I really just want to divide one lot into two, and learn the order of the process.

Hi Adam,  If you haven't done this already, I would suggest talking with the local officials.  Doesn't cost anything and they can guide if there are any pitfalls or concerns with your particular lot, etc, as well as give you a step by step to get your lot subdivided.  

Typically you would do some due diligence to make sure your not wasting money and spinning your wheels for an ultimate disappointment.  But, once relatively confident the subdivision will go through... Hire an Engineer/Surveyor to prepare the plot plan for you.  Then submit to the local municipality or county (whichever the case) for review and approval (the plans can show the existing mobile home with a note "To Be Removed"--that way you don't need to spend the money now to remove it.  There may be several steps and submissions before final approval but the local gov staff should be able to guide you on procedures.  Best Wishes!!

Joe