I am new and looking to buy in Delaware County, PA.

10 Replies

Hello, I am looking to buy a duplex or multi level home and am very new to this.  I am seeing there isn't a lot in my area, but there are homes in Lansdowne, PA.  I am thinking of living there for a bit.  I am very new to this.  I have decided to do this to help pay for where I live, but I think ultimately I will not want to live there for a long time.  I am looking to do this to buy a place for me to live elsewhere.  

Has anyone else bought in Lansdowne and are you happy with it?  I figure it is close to the city and could be a wise investment.  I was wondering what your thoughts were on this.  I currently live in Delaware County, PA.  

Hi Holly, sounds like a good plan. Looks like you are from Swarthmore. Lansdowne is not as nice as Swarthmore, but most of it is not as bad as West Philly either. It is somewhere in between. I have 2 rentals in Lansdowne and they cash flow really nicely but the location is only so so in my opinion. Somewhere between C and B-. If you stay further west in Lansdowne, then you will find nicer neighborhoods. I have seen some nice duplex and small multi families as you get closer to Ridley and Springfield areas. Values are much higher but if your goal is just to control living expenses then you may enjoy those areas a little more. 

If you are looking for better cash flow later on down the road then you are on the right track with Lansdowne. 

Sorry that's so all over the place but I think for a straight answer we need a little more on who you are and what exactly you are looking for. 

Hope this helps!