Wholesaling deals that makes since

9 Replies

Hello all: I'm relatively new to real estate and am currently doing wholesaling. 

I already have a potential seller and I'm already confused about what to do next:

1. What is the best way to figure the ARV? Or is this extremely necessary during initial negotiation? If not, when would this become of importance?

2. How would I negotiate a deal that "makes sense"? What does it mean for it to "make sense"? Is it that a mixture of  making sure it's selling at a reasonable price to get a lot of interest as well as being profitable for me doable for the buyer?

3. If I talk to a realtor, would I have to pay them too?

4. I was told not to worry too much about the repair fees when deciding the price initially, as that would be better accessed by the buyer. I'm wondering if then a good strategy would be to have a serious buyer put a down payment, come see the house and get it appraised or do their own assessment and then adjust the selling price afterwards.

I just need some clarity before I start attempting to build my on this deal and future ones.

Any and all responses are welcomed.

Also, I am interested in a mentorship so please feel free to contact me if interested.

Thanks in advance.

Carla richardson

The first thing I would do is listen to the podcasts covering wholesaling.

Knowing some of the basics about your market is important, in my opinion. Find your ARV from SOLD comps (not Zestimates) and search to see what the potential sellers motivation is.

Finding out what there motivation is (their problem) and ARV is the first next step. After that, you can worry about estimating the rehab. There are lots of worksheets and basics to go off of for that step.

@Carla M Richardson   

1. ARV is determined by a study of very similar homes that were sold in the immediate area.  I shoot for sold within 1/4 mile and in the last 6 months.