Opinion on area in Houston: Cashmere Gardens

7 Replies

I am fairly new in the game. 

Investing in a low-income high-crime neighborhood is out of my comfort zone, but being in the biggerpockets community, i gather the impression that a lot of good deals exist in C neighborhoods.

That said, specifically, what do you guys think of the Cashmere Gardens area? 

Mostly small houses built around 1945, block and beam foundation. 

Surveying the area, my impression was that it was cleaner and more well-maintained than I expected.The signs for rental vacancies posted around the area emphasized on "no credit needed". I generally had a positive feeling in the area. 

Thanks!

I would categorize Kashmere Gardens as a D, not a C. I haven't been over there in a long time so I'm going mainly based off of memory and reputation but I'd be wary of investing there if you're new to this. You're chasing cash flow without realizing that expenses and delinquencies will eat you up. As long as you understand what you're getting into, you can make money. Most people will underestimate and will lose out.

Thanks Michael! Perhaps I will approach this adventure at a later stage. 

On the same thought, am I right in assuming that the typical tenant in this area may not have bank accounts, no SSN.. the landlord signs up for the utilities? I have heard this demographic is a reliable tenant. Thought? 

How does one get data of the demographics of the area?

I'm not sure how you can have no SSN unless you mean they are illegal aliens, in which case the demographic for Kashmere Gardens is mainly black, not hispanic. But generally you're right about the other parts - they don't have bank accounts nor credit. That's why all bills paid properties can be popular because it doesn't force them to go get utilities on their owns which would likely require huge deposits.