Wholesaling in a rural area

6 Replies

Hello everyone! I'm a rookie real estate investor and I've been looking into wholesaling and I was wondering if wholesaling in a rural area is a good idea? I live in a small town of east Texas and I've been researching a lot about wholesaling but still don't know where to start. I was wanting to start in my hometown but I think it's a bit rural and was wondering if it was a good idea to start here? If anyone who's had a similar experience comes across this I would very much appreciate some advice as to how you handled the situation!

@Bryan Salvador Yes you can. There is always someone looking to invest in real estate. I know folks doing just fine in small towns. Your buyers don't have to be local either. I buy in a town 2 hours from my home. Just be sure to lock in the contracts cheap.

Where in East Texas?

@Bryan Salvador it is very doable but does have some obstacles.  I wholesale in CA and FL.  When I look into contracting properties in rural area I often have a harder time finding buyers.

2 main reasons:

1. Less investors are looking to spend their money there.  As @Kyle Mccaw mentioned people do buy in towns further away, but you will of course have less demand

2. A lot less comps are available in rural areas. What this means is you will have a harder time justifying the ARV of a property you have in contract, leading to less chance of you assigning for a good profit/

Just a quick pointer.  You DO NOT need to wholesale in an area local to you.  It does make things easier sometimes, but don't let that be a factor that stops you from wholesaling out of your home town.