It seems that 1% or 2% rule doesn't really apply in SLC area.

15 Replies

Hi all, I am new to BP as a newbie investor. I have been screening deals on MLS for over 200 listings and it seems it is mission impossible to find a deal that is even close to 1% rule. Any thoughts, folks?

Hi Hua,

I would agree they rarely exist, however I have seen them from time to time. However if something that amazing comes across the MLS as hard as it was to find one it would be even harder to secure in this market. Good deals typically have multiple offers within a day or 2.

The fact a 1 or 2% deal rarely exists in the Salt Lake Valley should not stop you from investing.  There are lots of amazing investments out there and almost anything in the Salt Lake Valley will be a good Long term investment. 

I would keep watching. Watch Homes for sale and also the rental market.  If you study the values and watch hot sheets, you will know when a good deal comes along. Then you can run the numbers on those select few that you immediately know look promising. 

Thanks Cherie for your comments. There are other concerns I have: 1. The cash flow of the properties I have screened is never over $200. The assumption is 20% down with 5% APR over 30 yrs, if take vacancy and maintenance into consideration, there is pretty much no cash flow. 2. Everyone agrees that the recess is coming, the question is when. I feel that the high price point of real estate is not sustainable.

@Hua Zhang

No one really knows as far as recession goes. My personal opinion is that we have a good 2-5 years that they continue to rise. Many cities expect population to rise up to 50% in the next 5 years.