Reasons to invest in Birmingham

7 Replies

I have seen a lot of chatter on investing in Birmingham and after some research I do not understand the hype. From a macro purposes, the population is declining and job growth is minimal. What are the reasons that are enticing folks to invest there? Much appreciated!

Hey Mike, I don’t have much technical info for you because I’m pretty new to real estate still, but I do live in Birmingham. Birmingham stats aren’t super impressive, but it can be hard to see the context in those numbers, because Birmingham is a weird shape and much of what is considered Birmingham is not actually Birmingham. Birmingham used to be really nice, but declined for a really long time, and it’s really had a lot of work going into revitalizing it. More businesses are moving in, the city is establishing new entertainment districts etc., and so a lot of people are revitalizing these old iconic neighborhoods of Birmingham.

the population is declining and job growth is minimal.  MIKE- you are wrong. Just issued publication states Alabama is one of Top 10 MOVING INTO states in America at 15,000+ per year and is #10 highest. Birmingham is getting its piece. Yes due to political leadership, theft, and overall abuse has caused crime and weaker law enforcement that has adversely affected Birmingham city growth but recently showing more positive signs. But those moves just went to suburbs growing them. Hoover as example is like 4th or 5th largest city in the state now and moving higher. 

CASH FLOW REI is still Super spot- with low taxes, fantastic job offerings- all work that wants to work. In fact just north of Bham I was told by two HR experts there just is not enough Males to put in the JOBS and they are having to put Females into non-normal jobs- Welding cited for $19 hourly starting out. And there is not enough of them that People will have to be brought into the state to keep up.