Phoenix Neighborhoods Questions

10 Replies | Phoenix, Arizona

Hey all,

I'm a software engineer from California and recently moved to Phoenix to begin looking for places to invest. We're looking for steady income streams and low maintenance. What are some of the common generalizations of the following areas? I've gathered some of the information below. 

Chandler - next to Intel, lots of working professionals

Gilbert - more affordable

Glendale 

Mesa

Peoria

Scottsdale - upper end part of Phoenix

Surprise - 

Tempe - next to ASU

Tucson - next to University of Arizona

What other areas do you suggest?

Thanks in advance

Each of those neighborhoods have pro's and con's.  You will have to give some insight on your situation and goals for the forums to help.  

@Alexander C. Those aren't neighborhoods, those are entire cities. It's like asking where to invest between Long Beach to San Diego. You might try Trulia.com or city-data.com to narrow down some demographics.

I think investment opportunity in AZ is tough right now but if I was going to bank on an area it would be a sweet spot in between South Scottsdale and Tempe.  It is rough in some areas, but with the continuous growth of ASU and Old Town Scottsdale it is only a matter of time before the neighborhood swings.

Hey Alexander,

Tempe only allows 3 unrelated individuals in 1 SFR, so if you're buying houses rather than multis to rent to students that is an issue. Tempe is blowing up right now with development and lots of companies bringing jobs to the city. Values continue to go up steadily and there are some cool neighborhoods directly south and southwest of the neighborhood. Lots of folks on corners and signs, LOOOOOOOTS of road construction constantly. They're trying to build a streetcar line and install bike lanes after the fact, which is cool but is upsetting a lot of residents.