Skip to content
Phoenix Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Dalton Riep
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
Are there ways around the down payment for house hacking / brrrr?

Dalton Riep
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Posted May 29 2019, 21:25

Hello everyone!

I am a college student trying to house-hack or do a brrrr property in Phoenix, but as a college student, I don't have a big enough down payment (Only about $2,000). Are there any ways around this??? Lenders keep giving me mixed answers on grants and down payment assistance. Also, does rental income only count if it is a 3-plex / 4-plex or can I count rental income if I plan to rent out rooms in a single-family home?

User Stats

Votes
John Warren
  • Real Estate Broker
  • 1658 N. Milwaukee Ave Ste B PMP 18969 Chicago, IL 60647
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • 1658 N. Milwaukee Ave Ste B PMP 18969 Chicago, IL 60647
Replied May 30 2019, 03:33

@Dalton Riep while it is admirable that you want to get started, I would recommend waiting until you can get the funds together. House hacking is already a bit of a cheat code as it allows you to come to the table with way less than normal, and if you can't scrape together 3.5% down what will you do when the furnace goes out, a pipe bursts, etc. 

Pick up an extra job, start a side hustle, and save, save, save. 

• Real Estate Agent IL (#475.166619)

Forte Properties, Inc Logo

User Stats

Votes
Bob Okenwa
  • Real Estate Agent/Investor
  • Peoria, AZ
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent/Investor
  • Peoria, AZ
Replied May 30 2019, 04:39

@Dalton Riep

What kind of mixed answers are you getting in regards to DPA? There are many programs available in Phoenix that should be able to help you.

Not sure if an SFR you occupy and rent out individual rooms will count towards rental income or not. You should speak with a lender about this.

Vacasa logo
Vacasa
|
Sponsored