Tucson Right for Investment?

9 Replies

Hi everyone, I'm just getting started out as a new RE investor, and have begun research in the Tucson market. I was wondering if anyone was willing to connect or post your insights on the state of the market.

It seems that Tucson has recovered very nicely from the recession and budget sequestration, but curious if this growth can continue, as well as the fact that it seems building permits are increasing significantly. 

Any responses are very much appreciated, and would love to connect with anyone with interest/knowledge in the area as well!

Hey Alex, not sure if you are still looking at Tucson for possible investments but the market here is still strong and shows every indication of continued growth. Amazon is opening two new facilities here this year, Geico is hiring 700 people soon, CAT just moved one of their headquarters here and plans to expand that out, and the city is open to revitalization and development. What type of investments are you looking at purchasing here? 

I am currently living in Tucson and am searching for deals. I am interested in residential rental properties. 

Tucson market is slowly developing. I am working as a civil engineer so I work on infrastructure being built around town in this year and my company is bidding for projects for next year. 

Also on the lookout for opportunities in Tucson:

SFH, < $215,000, minor property distress.
I’m out of state and still learning about the most sensible neighborhoods.

Stupid question: if the properties I'm analyzing are showing as cash flowing as negative as -$200 per month in year one (with 25% down), should I just be steering clear?

@Ryan H. , steer clear of any properties that aren't cash flowing for sure.  The Tucson real estate market is competitive but it's not so competitive that buyers aren't purchasing cash flowing properties.  Keep your eyes open to different lead generators such as: