Skip to content
Innovative Strategies

User Stats

Votes

Required Documents for Seller Financing

Posted Jun 1 2023, 10:33

I am moving out of the Boston area, but recently learned that my landlord is looking to sell my current apartment. Since I will need most of my cash for a downpayment on the house we are buying, I thought seller financing could be a great way to purchase the apartment, since I know the seller is motivated and owns the condo free-and-clear. However, I have never done seller financing before, and I am wondering what exactly I need to get the deal done. I know I need a title company to write the title over to me - do I also need an attorney to draw up a loan agreement between the two of us? Is there any other documentation/ members of the real estate team that I should bring in? My landlord currently does not have a real estate agent, so no agents need to be included, either. Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Jun 1 2023, 16:58

Get a realtor to represent you. Do not tread these waters alone. 

User Stats

Votes
Michael Vazza
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Boston, MA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Boston, MA
Replied Jun 5 2023, 17:17

Hi Benjamin, you can negotiate and come to a practical agreement and terms but I definitely would get legal representation from a MA attorney before anything is signed if this is your first purchase. It's a small cost compared to the potential risks involved going at it alone. 

Your landlord most likely will be utilizing an attorney on their end as it is. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Caroline Gerardo
  • Lender