• Chula Vista, CA
Votes |
Expert Advice Sought

Warren Chadwick
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Chula Vista, CA
Posted Jul 31 2014, 05:16

Good Afternoon,

I am new to the Bigger Pockets community and joined roughly a month ago after a friend recommended this site. I have to say it is a phenomenal resource and a great wealth of information, it is a pleasure to become part of such a community.

I am seeking expert advice as I am somewhat of a novice when it comes to actual real estate investing. I will admit with a bit of hesitation, that I have spent $10,000 dollars on "gurus." I have also completed five real estate appraisal courses, read many books and dedicated the past year to learning as much as possible about real estate. I can honestly say with a great deal of confidence, I am beginning to understand quite a bit about the real estate industry. Moreover, I am beginning to understand how much I don't know about the industry.

After nearly 13 years of active duty military service I am getting ready to "get out." I have three children who's lives I am determined to spend more time molding and I am determined to build a better financial future for them. Along with this decision of course comes the fact that my earned income will be dropping significantly.

My question is somewhat complex and multifaceted, and I will make my best effort to keep it as clear as possible.

I live in a property that I am in the process of inheriting from my Uncle who is in a rest home. I have been living in the house for 3 years and I'm currently fixing the property. I have put about $20,000 dollars into the property, which is a substantial amount for me at this point. However, in order to complete a full rehab on the property I will need to pull out some of the equity and make some serious repairs.