Residential assisted living

15 Replies

Hello @Jack Williams .  I know this is really delayed, but I'm currently looking into it.  I had a meeting with the RAL Academy last week and have another one scheduled.  Currently I'm looking for people with experience in that market.  Let me know if you have made any progress in it and I would be happy to share as I research if you are interested.

@Matt Schambeau @Jack Williams

I'm a broker in Michigan and we specialize in residential assisted living (called adult foster care in Michigan)

Are you looking to get into it strictly as a real estate investment with somebody else operating the business, or get into owning/operating the business as well?

I would be happy to give you any advise that I'm able to.

Good morning @Kevin Vandenboss ,

I'm looking to do both, but I'm early in my discovery.  I have not decided on a market yet and have not looked into Michigan.  I have ruled out my local market in GA due to the limit of 6 beds per home.  Based on a little research it looks like you can have up to 12 beds in a residence there.  Is that right?  What are you normally seeing in the market? What cities are you primarily focusing on. Looks like there are some good markets as far as cost of care in Michigan including Ann Arbor, Lancing, Kalamazoo, Monroe, Midland. 

@Matt Schambeau

We work all over the state. I'm in Lansing and we've done deals all the way up in the upper peninsula.

You can have up to 20 beds here. However, I have seen two adjacent 20-bed facilities connected by a hallway or two connected by a shared kitchen. There's a group that builds four facilities on a lot.

If your focus is on seniors the average bed rate is around $3,500/ month. If it's a memory care facility it's closer to $4,500 - $5,000/ month.