I can borrow 100k private loan, what should I do with it?

13 Replies

Hi,

Newbie seeking advice! I can’t get a bank loan (my income is too low and irregular), but I can borrow 100k from family, or sell a share worth 100k of my property overseas.

What can I do with 100k?

I hear about people buying properties for 80k, but having difficulty with where in the US would is a smart area to buy. If they are too cheap, doesn’t this attract low quality tenants? Scared to lose my nest egg.

I rent in New York now, and want to stay here for a few more years, so thinking of buying a rental property but not sure where

ideas appreciated!

Thank you!!

@Taylor L.

Thanks for replying!

I am an artist and want to start a family in the next few years so I would like to increase my passive income to free up more time. Ideally in 10 years it would be amazing to have ‘retired’ ie. I can spend all of my time to work only on my art

While I’d like to live in NYC for a couple more years, I imagine moving to a cheaper city down the track - then I imagine I could Brrr, or buy a duplex and live in one and rent the other.

In the meantime I thought I could buy something under 100k and rent it... Maybe Philadelphia because it’s close and affordable? I’ve been looking at Kensington but worried about low quality tenants

My goal for the next 3 years would be to enter the US real estate market and not make a terrible first choice.

Philly is tough and New Yorkers are getting their butts kicked. They don’t understand the market down here. It’s totally different. But there are a lot of opportunities.