Skip to content
Innovative Strategies

User Stats

Votes
David Fairall
  • Salt Lake City, UT
Votes |
Owner out of the country; wants to sell duplex - How do I buy it?

David Fairall
  • Salt Lake City, UT
Posted Jul 16 2019, 11:24

I know a property owner who lives outside the US and wants to unload his duplex and I'm trying to find a way to buy it. I'm wondering if seller financing might be my best bet but I'm really new at this so I could be way off. I've been reading as much as I can on here to see how I can do it but I think there are a lot of variables that I'm probably not thinking of because I don't know what I don't know. So hopefully the Bigger Pockets community could shed some light on this. 

So here is how I know the owner and all the details I know of regarding his situation that may be helpful.

-My wife and I rented one of the units in his duplex for 7 years.

-He wasn't a big time investor (i.e. owned a large portfolio of assets). He bought the duplex with the intentions that when his sons got old enough to attend the local university they could live in one of the units and have their own space and still be close to home. He also rented his old house that was around the corner from the duplex.

-About 4 years into our stay, his wife got a job offer in her native country and they all moved. He then enlisted a property management company to oversee the property.

-Fast forward 3 years and we are looking at buying a property ourselves. We would have loved to buy his duplex but for a number of reasons didn't think we could (I thought it would have been out of our price range) but we mostly didn't want to tell the owner that we were looking to move as we were paying well below market for the place and didn't want to rock the boat. In hindsight, it probably wouldn't have mattered if we told him (because he ended being really cool/happy about us finding a place) but we just didn't know how he or the property managers would respond.