I'm new to real estate.

19 Replies

Last Friday I went to a company to set up my llc and to establish the business so I can begin to build credit under the llc. I would like my first property to be 3-4 unit buy and hold rehab. So my question is what should I be doing next while the process I mentioned before is happening.

@Joseph Whitney

Yikes.  What market are you in?  What are your long term goals?  Are you planning on managing the unit yourself, or what?  At this point, it seems you should be the one asking a lot of pointed questions, after you've done a lot of thinking, yourself.

Why'd you do an LLC? There are tons of opinions on both sides of that. We don't have LLC on our stuff and rely on good insurance.

Joseph - welcome to BP and the investment world. :)

There's a lot of knowledge out there to get yourself started. If you want to ramp up your forward movement start finding a way to talk to distressed sellers. Decide if you have more money or more time and create a marketing strategy that fits your budget and schedule.

Search BP for ways to get free seller leads if you lack money. If you lack time work with an established agent that can help you out.

You've got this!

@Jim Goebel thanks for reaching out. I'm in the Chicago/ Joliet market. Long term I would like to get buy some land in the Joliet area and get some commercial investments if I'm saying this correct along with acquiring property in Texas. For my first 2 maybe 3 properties yes i would manage them, then I would get a property managing company that works off a percentage of my rents instead of a flat rate. I don't know if I have better answer to why I started the llc other than from other real estate investors it was good to set up my business in the beginning oppose to along the way.