Debt as leverage or debt as slavery?

8 Replies

Howdy everyone,

I’m new to the forum so please forgive any mistakes I am making here.

My goal is financial freedom to travel and teach yoga and meditation to as many people and places as possible. I am a mortgage advisor/loan officer in the fresno CA area. My wife and I just bought our first home and we are excited to buy our first rental within the next 12-24 months.

The question: How do you know which strategy is good for you? Dave Ramsey style, “pay cash for rentals” or the “refi till ya’ die” Hartman style?

Thank you for sharing your wisdom🙏🏼

Per Joe, Ramsey is only a personal finance guy.

When rent is >> the mortage by at least $300, or $400, then that rental mortgage is "good debt".

Gary Johnston's seminars, Financial Freedom, is geared toward investors;  https://garyjohnston.com/semin...

We've been to Gary's seminars 2x. Its what helped my wife move from low debt to max (rental) debt as long as each house cash flows well. Google DSCR. We like min dscr at purcase to be 1.5 or better, after a few years 1.7 and mature rentals 2.0... Look up what these numbers mean. It means both safety and huge income and even greater wealth building via appreciation.

Wealth accumulation is maximized via max # of doors. The debt-less advocation crowd does not mention; you are minimizing wealth accumulation since you have very few doors (debt free). But BRRRR will have you the max number of doors, all with OPM debt, and all appreciating and debt paydown. We "quit" early due to BRRRR and max mortgages and max doors.

Thankyou OPM and mortgages!!!  :>

Hi Har,