Series LLC legislation in Arkansas

20 Replies

There is a good chance that Arkansas will soon join a growing number of states that allow the creation of Series LLCs.  The legislative package of the Arkansas Bar Association is supposed to include that legislation, and it sounds like it has widespread support and is considered noncontroversial.  

I am by no means an expert on Series LLCs, but a Series LLC should make it easier and less expensive to set up separate entities to segregate assets or groups of investors. You set up a Master LLC and then have a streamlined process for setting up and maintaining different "series" under the master LLC, with each series being the rough equivalent of a separate LLC. I had been thinking about using that structure but wasn't thrilled about needing to set one up in another state in which I do not do business and in which I do not know the attorneys. This will make it more convenient for those of us in Arkansas who might want to use a series LLC instead of setting up multiple LLCs.

I've never heard of that before...learn something new everyday!  So just curious @Mark Rogers, do you know how tax filing would be handled?  Would each individual "series" file it's own return? 

Can I say "it depends"? :)   I think you would have the flexibility to set it up so that one tax filing for the master could cover all of the "cells," or if you elected a different type of tax treatment for a particular cell, it would probably file its own return while the rest were covered by the master filing.  I haven't set one up or used one so haven't had to figure out that part yet.

Mark, this info regarding Series LLCs is quite interesting.  Your post was approx 2 months ago. Have there been any new developments?  Do you have an idea when this legislation might come to the floor? Or better yet ...for now, is there a place where we could read the proposal...a website, url or something that you could share?  We appreciate your input!  Thank you!