Downtown Los Angeles, what am I missing?

8 Replies | Los Angeles County, California

Hello All!

My wife and I are considering moving to downtown.  She works there and I'm an agent so I can work anywhere.  My thought is DTLA prices are suppressed thanks to COVID, however I believe there will be a bounce back because of the lifestyle DTLA brings.  Therefore staying near Staples Center or the Financial District is our best best.

Here is my dilemma.  It is significantly cheaper to rent there than it is to own (over $1,000/month difference when putting 5% down).  Knowing we would only live there for 1 year, maybe 2 max, it may make sense to rent rather than own.  I already have two properties in LA (I have been house hacking).  One thought is after two years when things go back to "normal", sell.  With the equity build we would either (a) make money or (b) break even which means we lived there for free or at least less than if I had rented.  

Am I missing something?  I feel like there is an opportunity here for the right place but can't seem to find it.

Thank you all!

-Rick

Hi, you never know time length, sometimes 1 or 2 years turns into longer?

My vote it to buy.

My bet is that downtown will turn around much quicker than anticipated....once restaurants and bars are able to open you will see a surge.

Of course pure speculation....we will see!

Hey Rick, I went through a similar dilemma with my wife. We just moved out of LA (Ventura County), but were considering house hacking while we were there, but the numbers just didn't make sense. We wanted to have multiple exit strategies and we couldn't find a property that would cashflow once we moved out and started renting both sides. We knew that we could sell when we moved out but we didn't want to risk being forced to sell at a loss if the market took a downturn.