Lease Option investing

13 Replies | San Diego, California

Hi All,

Does any one in the San Diego market have experience or advice about Lease Options? Finding a motivated seller and matching them with a short term lessee (tenant-buyer) to take over the property.

I'm new to real estate and have 0 capital to make any kind of down payment for a rental property. While researching i have found that my best options to get started (while saving money to eventually have a down payment) might be pursuing lease options (Sandwich lease options) or even investing in other markets via Turnkey investing that requires much less money upfront than the San Diego market.

I'm looking to connect with investors in San Diego to learn from and would appreciate any advice!

Thanks!

There are few lease options in San Diego because the property appreciation makes it historically a bad option for the owner. So finding a lease option may be harder than finding solid wholesale options (which also is not easy to find properties that can be purchased at 70% of ARV).

Good luck

Thanks @Dan Heuschele . That makes sense about the lease options. I will continue to research them because i also feel like there are many people including myself who live in San Diego and are not able to afford the conventional way of purchasing a home. What would you say is the best recommendation for some one in this market to get started with little capital?

Thanks! 

If you are finding motivated sellers, then you can structure lease option contracts with them. Typically most beginners start with Wholesaling because it is the fastest way to make money and requires little to no capital. If your sellers are unable to accept a low cash price, do ask them if they are open to terms. If they are, you can structure a lease option agreement with them or a seller financing agreement and you can wholesale that contract for a fee if you like. 

Originally posted by @Bryan Field :