Positive cash flow- reinvest in the mortgage?

14 Replies

What is the best way to manage positive cash flow? Do you put it all back into the mortgage or save for future deal?

I'd get my reserves up and then spend that cash-flow like I'm gong to die tomorrow.

Thanks guys. I can see now His it depends on your goals. My goal is to buy more properties, so saving it makes sense.

Is there a short term vehicle you put this money in that earns interest?

Thanks for helping me think through this.

Hi Jerry,

I was in the same dilemma after purchasing my first rental property.

I am a CPA from Michigan so my gut says to pay off the debt right away.

After my first house I realized that having a good reserves and then using the cash for the next deal will help you grow. You earned that money, why not use it to make you more.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Happy to help!

Mike

@Jerry Hill I don’t put it back into the mortgage. Money is “cheap” right so I don’t think it makes too much sense to do additional principal pay down. There are cases where it might make sense. If it lets you get ride of PMI then that a real savings. Commerical debt needs to be refinanced every (in general) 5 or 7 years. So principal pay down today will have a material effect on cash-flow in 5 or 7 years (lower loan balance at refinance time). But I’d still rather try to find an investor that yields better returns. Or maybe you can take that additional money and upgrade the property in some way to yield better rents, etc.

And, of course, if you’re just plain saturated and don’t want anymore more Investments then pay down your principal. I know people here love expansion and debt-until-you-die but it’s not for everyone. Sure, it’s a little lousy from a tax perspective and it doesn’t maximize ROI but it’s a way better option that chasing the “next deal” out of some reflexive reaction.

Half of the reason you should want “financial freedom” is the “freedom” piece of it.