Approaching a private Investor

3 Replies

I have someone in mind that could make a great potential private investor. I’m wondering what type of information I should prepare to present to this person as well as general tips for approaching a private investor. Thanks!

hey @Shaun Morgan , I don't have too much experience in this field so DEFINITELY take my opinion with a pound of salt, but from my education in entrepreneurship and from what research on the topic I have done, when it comes to private investors it is less about what info you bring to the table on the first visit and more so how you approach the situation. I was even just listening to some of the first podcasts today -i think it was show 11 or 12 or so  - on private funding through seller financing and how they highly recommended not even approaching the subject of financials until they had met and talked at least 3-4 times prior.  Again, newbie here, but I would try and build a relationship with the person prior to asking for investing. I'd say, hey I know you are a local investor, and i am too - want to get some coffee some time? Then see if his goals align with your plan, and after a few visits say, hey John Doe, i have this deal, can i have your advice on if you think it is a good deal, and something that you would conciser putting your money down on?

Again, take my word as that of an amateur as well, but that's how i would approach it. 

@Shaun Morgan

First thing is you really want to build a relationship with them. 

I'm actually taking a potential investor to lunch tomorrow. He's someone I've known for 14 years but not been close to.