Investor No-No’s or pet peeves

8 Replies

Hi everyone!

I’m an agent in Lubbock, TX & work with a few investors who fired previous agents due to not meshing well with that. In saying that, what are your pet peeves or big no-no’s if/when you’ve worked with an agent?

Before answering this, I would advise just to ask them to elaborate and give specific feedback on "not meshing well."  This will tell you their exact pet peeves (which I assume is the answer you're looking for) and give you an idea if they are reasonable or unreasonable. 

For me it's misaligned expectations, which is both an agent and my (investor's) fault.  At the core, it's all about setting realistic expectations.  It's very similar to what @David Greene talked about at the end of today's BP podcast (#344).  

It's completely unreasonable for an investor to expect the agent to provide rehab numbers, ARV, and answer "what do you think?" on every analyzed deal. On the flip side It's also unacceptable for an agent just send an MLS listing and ask "do you want to make an offer?" There is no value-add there.

The goal for both parties is to buy a property (or properties), so the upfront discussion has to be what specific information do you need from the agent to help purchase a property.

@Nate Tauferner

Nate, I'm a self-managing, DIY landlord, a handyman who uses his skills on his own properties. There are plenty of people exactly like me in every market in America.