Trying to house hack for the first time

15 Replies | Sacramento, California

I’m 24 years old and I’m trying to buy my first house hack. I have a full time job of 4 years and I make about 50k a year, I have 25k to put down. I’m looking for any advice and help to find something and get approved. I talked to a mortgage consultant who is a family friend and he seems to think I’m far away from being ready to buy. I’d appreciate all the help I can get. Thank you 

I’ve thought about that, if I went that route could I use the rental income from renting out the rooms to help get approved for a loan? I’m extremely new to all of this and still learning so I might have some stupid questions.

If you buy a small multifamily, they’ll count some expected income from rents, but the purchasing power you’d get for renting out half a duplex will be pretty small. I would be surprised if a lender would give you any consideration for renting out rooms in a house. I do like that approach, though, and you’re more likely to find something you can get approved for. If you’re creative, you may even be able to buy a 3-bedroom and rent out all 3 bedrooms while still living there. (In the garage? Living room?)

@Jacob Rodrigues , welcome to BP and welcome to the forums. I am 6 months new here and have asked a lot of questions. Some of them are stupid, but you know what I don't care. I strive and thrive on learning. If someone can save you from a headache then the questions was worth it. 

With your down payment and income I do not think you will have to hard a time qualifying for an FHA loan. You could do like @Natalie Schanne did. Howev,er I've done the roommate thing in college. Not interested in that route.