Investing in other states

10 Replies

Hello neighbors!

Im a newbie currently living in riverside ca. I'm excited about what I've researched so far, and am looking to start investing in the near future ( my goal is to obtain my first rental property by summer 2017).

Currently I don't have much capital so I was looking at other states to invest in where the barrier to entry is much lower. I'm looking for multi family houses in the 50-75k range.

Which markets do you all currently invest in and how did you go about setting up your team before getting started? (Do you invest in turn key rentals and if so what area some reputable turn key companies).

Right now I'm looking for property In Milwaukee but I'm open to other areas.

Thanks in advance!

Jennifer.

Hi @Account Closed

Hope you are doing well.

I live in Carlsbad, CA (not too far from you) and I invest in mid west in Lake County, IN market. 

I have not looked into Milwaukee market, but I would think it would be challenging to find a multi unit in $50-$75k price range in a decent area in any market. I could be completely wrong. I am basing this on investing experience in one market.

Are you looking to purchase cash or using financing?

Sharad

Originally posted by @Sharad M. :

Hi @Account Closed

Hope you are doing well.

I live in Carlsbad, CA (not too far from you) and I invest in mid west in Lake County, IN market. 

I have not looked into Milwaukee market, but I would think it would be challenging to find a multi unit in $50-$75k price range in a decent area in any market. I could be completely wrong. I am basing this on investing experience in one market.

Sharad

Hi @Nick Feliciano  thanks for the reference!

Hi @ Sharad M. 

What's your price point for your properties in  Indiana? Im looking to use financing. I'm planning on using equity from my home as a down payment. 15K -20K pulled out is all Im comfortable with doing at this point. 

Hi @Jennifer Smith