Rental properties in Denver

22 Replies

Hi,

I am just getting started in the Denver area, looking to get a rental property..

I am having a hard time finding any duplex/triplex that have more cash flow than $100-200 (using the BP analyzer, assuming I am running the numbers right).

Is this a normal amount of cash flow for rentals in the Denver/Aurora area? Or should I look into another method (BRRRR, wholesale, etc)

Thanks!

Derek.

Buying rental properties in Denver is going to not have that good of cash flow. If you're looking for cash flow then I'd recommend looking out of state. 

@Derek Hutson If you're interested in multifamily and primarily motivated by cash flow, you might consider looking in Colorado Springs. I think you can still find a good mix of cash flow and appreciation there and it's still relatively close where you could drive by your properties once in a while.

I would think you could do a little better than $100-200/month in the Denver area, but it will probably will be harder to locate decent cash flow in Denver. You may want to check the assumptions you're using. 

@Derek Hutson Post a couple of deals that you've analyzed. You'll get a lot better feedback if you share those. Otherwise, it's really hard to provide you any useful insight.

The prices on multi families have really gone up a lot around Denver. Why multis? I ask because many people say that's what they want because the Internet has recommended it!

@Jared Bouzek gave good advice. Check CS as well. 

Deals are out there. I just bought a  place that should cf about $800 a month. PP was a little over $200k. 

@Matt M. That's very impressive. I'm curious to know what you factor in for cash flow?

@Derek Hutson, I agree about looking into the Springs. I also have a preference for military cities when it comes to buy and hold. However I'm looking in the Midwest more heavily now to get more bang for the buck.