Moving to Hartford, CT. Buy or rent short-term?

11 Replies

Hi all! 

I am moving to Hartford, CT this fall and am currently figuring out what would be the best decision to take for short-term (2-3 years) living. I am a newbie but am interested in investing in my own place, which maybe I can later rent or profit from it. Since there are many experienced investor (hopefully with knowledge of this area), I would like to ask for any advice on locations, things that you wish you would have known, or any suggestions in general are greatly appreciated. Currently, I am looking for properties under 200K and take advantage of the FHA loan.

@Yoribaldis Olivo welcome to the Hartford area. I have a few holdings in the area (SFR and MFR) and started the same way. Feel free to reach out any time. I can share some of my experience with areas. Appreciation and CT is not as heady as other areas of the country, but I think we will improve. Definitely opportunities to be had if you know where to look.

@Rick Santasiere Great! Thank you for the response. As of now, I am mainly looking for places close to work near East Hartford (SFR). I have been also looking into Glastonbury, Manchester, and Vernon but no luck yet finding a place that I would like to live in. From my research as of now, Glastonbury seems like the nicer and safer area but it is also more expensive.

Glastonbury is indeed nice, however, if you don't have kids in school it is not worth the price tag and definitely not the taxes. And, zero cash flow for rentals. People move to Glastonbury for the schools.

Hey @Yoribaldis Olivo , welcome to CT! I work in the Hartford area and am also looking at MFRs. I'm not an investor (yet!), but was raised in CT and despite my efforts to settle somewhere else in the country, my state kept pulling me home.