Expert Witness needed - Residential real estate - Atlanta GA

8 Replies | Atlanta, Georgia

Hi BP, a friend of mine is in need of an expert witness to testify in an upcoming fraud case involving flipping houses (it will be a few months from now). He was defrauded out of $500k+ by a flipper that he was investing with.  We're looking for recommendations for someone in Atlanta that's a reputable expert in residential real estate investing and/or flipping houses and has experience being an expert witness. Any idea where I could find someone like this?  Thanks in advance for the help

I think that might be a little too broad, as it's difficult to scientifically define an expert in investing. I believe that expert witnesses usually testify based on scientific data. 

For example, if I own a property that the city is trying to take in eminent domain, I am not allowed to testify on value, because I'm not an expert, even though I may have been investing for 30 years and know what I'm speaking of. BUT, I can hire an appraiser to speak on that. (Have an awesome appraiser that specializes in eminent domain and who does testify in court). 

So, I'm not sure that he can just hire another real estate investor as expert witness, since there are no licenses or certifications involved in that profession. 

Or he could hire an attorney that specializes in the intricacies of investing (not a closing attorney). 

Maybe also a broker, that specializes in investment properties can be an expert witness. 

Maybe a CPA that is familiar with the financial aspects of investing. 

HI @David Holcombe . I'd recommend you hit up the larger Metro Atlanta real estate investor associations or REIAs (Georgia REIA and Atlanta REIA) with your request for help. Surely someone there has experience with identifying such a legal resource.