House Hacking in Atlanta!

13 Replies | Atlanta, Georgia

Hey Guys, Thanks for taking the time to go over the post and helping out.

I'm still a newbie in real estate and have started almost started in early 2019. I'm currently based out of Dallas, TX and couldn't hold of a deal so far. However, I'm happy that I offered contracts on a few properties but stick with my numbers which made sense to me and didn't get emotional.

Having said that, I'm moving to Atlanta by the end of August for work. My work is in downtown and would like to rent initially but in the meantime looking for the recommendations on the decent areas where I can do house hacking. I have got a family and couldn't go to a ghetto neighborhood. Any suggestions will be really helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Hi A Bari,

This is great news Atlanta is a great market. My biggest thing would be proximity to your job so you can cut down on transportation (one of the big three expenses). Neighborhoods you should look at are Midtown, Old Fourth Ward, Edgewood, East Atlanta Village, Brookhaven, Decatur, there are many I am leaving out. The further you go from downtown the less expensive but tougher the commute. Typically the better schools are towards the north. All of the neighborhoods are coming up from the construction from the Beltline project. This is a good start. Feel free to PM if you have any other questions.

Respectfully,

Rodolfo