Moving to Athens and getting a feel for the market

10 Replies

Hello fellow BP members, I am a newbie wholesaler in the Tampa area and in a not so distant future I am looking to move to the Athens, GA. Right now I am learning and gaining new skills in Tampa which I plan to take to Athens so I don't have to depend on a ever so dreadful J O B and do Real Estate full time. I am starting with wholesaling to but my plans are to become a Buy/Hold Multi-Family investor. I wanted to get a feel for the market before I move. What to expect? Good areas/bad areas? Is wholesaling a good idea or should I got straight into investing? How is the Real Estate Climate in general? Should I consider investing and/or wholesaling in other cities? Anything I should avoid? Any REIA's I should join? What works and what doesnt. etc. Anything would help. Thank you in advance for your responses.

I don't know the market up there very well, but I assume you will be doing some business/networking in Atlanta.  I'm not sure if Atlanta is still on fire, but know it was not to long ago.  I say talk to a few mortgage lenders now and see what your options are for buying a small multi family in Athens.  I know getting a room there for football season can be very difficult, so look at your options with Airbnb to make some extra $$$ during the season.  To fully answer your question you need to decide what part(s) of real estate you want to do.  If buy and hold is the long term game focus everything around that.  Wholesaling can be beneficial here because you can choose which deal(s) to keep for yourself while making money on properties that are not for you.  This will also allow you to network to find properties from others.  Keep at it and remember numbers don't lie!