I’m looking to invest in MFHs in Chicago.

8 Replies | Chicago, Illinois

I'm a military vet and I've yet to use my VA Loan, I want to invest in MFHs and I plan on living in one of the apartments, I'm looking for a good source of cash flow. I need some some advice, I lived in Chicago when I was a kid and I visited the city last summer after 20 years, me and my wife really liked Chicago. California has great weather but the properties are getting way over priced and Chicago seems more affordable.

I would appreciate any help and advice on which areas to look into, some good real estate agents/brokers as well as any advice on being a landlord in Chicago. 

@Joett Ocasio you came to the right place with all those questions. I’m a born/raised chicago guy of 39 years and real estate broker of 14 years myself. If you’d like to chat, I’d be happy to discuss options for you and what to expect for sure. My info is in my signature or always can DM me of course.

Otherwise, best of luck with everything. Chicago is an amazing city that I’ll never be able to leave, so obviously see the draw. My bests...

Originally posted by @Joett Ocasio :

I'm a military vet and I've yet to use my VA Loan, I want to invest in MFHs and I plan on living in one of the apartments, I'm looking for a good source of cash flow. I need some some advice, I lived in Chicago when I was a kid and I visited the city last summer after 20 years, me and my wife really liked Chicago. California has great weather but the properties are getting way over priced and Chicago seems more affordable.

I would appreciate any help and advice on which areas to look into, some good real estate agents/brokers as well as any advice on being a landlord in Chicago. 

Chicago is such a huge market, it is hard to narrow it down.  What works for some may not work for others and there are a lot of personal factors that go into it.  

What is your budget?  

What areas are you familiar with?

Where will you both be working?