Investing in Chicago area: is it still worth it?

14 Replies | Chicago, Illinois

Greetings fellow investors,

I am complete noob, been looking to buy a 3-4 unit somewhere in Chicago area, preferably in the north-west or west suburbs. My question is, with rising taxes, anti-landlord regulations, stagnant job growth, and people leaving the area, is it still a good idea to buy an investment property here? Would I be better off somewhere else?

Thanks in advance.

I don't know the Chicago market, but i think there is great value, especially for a newbie, to invest in your backyard. In general, the entire country is hot- the RE market is doing well and unemployment is virtually at 0%, so in relative terms, Chicago shouldn't be that much different than the rest of the country. Define buying criteria that is comfortable for you, and be aggressive in your negotiations and patient in waiting for the right property. If you do great with your first few deals, you'll have the room to stretch and risk a bit on your future deals. Good luck!

It all depends what you are looking for. You can find almost everything in Chicago. 

Honestly, check the sources of the economic variables you indicated.

How many cranes can you see downtown? What's the average cost of a high end flip in Albany Park, Humboldt Park, or Logan Square? How much has it been invested in Healthcare? Are there future/ongoing plans for infrastructure? What are the areas with high concentration of blue collar workers to fulfill the above-referenced projects? 

More importantly, where is the largest source of potable water in the world? 

Best, 

Frank

Originally posted by @Yan Bekker :

Greetings fellow investors,