Looking to BRRRR in Chicago

12 Replies | Chicago, Illinois

I've been looking into real estate in Chicago since it seems like a good place to BRRRR. Any advice or info would be greatly appreciated. We're also going to need an agent, contractor, property manager and lender.

Joett, are you looking in Chicago proper or in the Greater Chicago area? I'm looking to do something similar and I think Chicago proper is tough to make the numbers work in a decent neighborhood. I'm a broker/owner in Chicago my agents have rented over 15000 units in the last 10 years. I can probably point you in the right direction on most of your vendor needs. DM me if you want to chat sometime. 

Originally posted by @Joett Ocasio:

I've been looking into real estate in Chicago since it seems like a good place to BRRRR. Any advice or info would be greatly appreciated. We're also going to need an agent, contractor, property manager and lender.

Hey.  I am an investor in Chicago.  Give some more specifics.  City or suburbs?  Price range?  What class of neighborhood?  

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

@Jeff Burdick Up to 20k for the property itself, in terms of city or suburbs which ever one has a better clash flow. 

I’m not really focused on appreciation but it would be nice to have both cash flow and appreciation.

I spent part of my child hood around the Humboldt park area and I came back 20 years later and went to the same area while I was on vacation in 2017. So I honestly don’t know what are the good and bad areas.

Originally posted by @Joett Ocasio:

@Jeff Burdick Up to 20k for the property itself, in terms of city or suburbs which ever one has a better clash flow. 

I’m not really focused on appreciation but it would be nice to have both cash flow and appreciation.