First time home/Multi unit buyer

13 Replies

Is there anybody in Chicago (NW side specifically) who is willing share with me in purchasing my first home (multi unit)? Please let me know, I don't know many investors seeing that I'm just getting started. Willing to buy coffee 😁

Are you looking for advice or partners? The forums don't allow any "deal making" which would include looking for partners, financing, real estate agents, etc. Be sure to read the rules located at the bottom of the screen.

And good luck getting started!

I'm looking for advise and what other investors use to make a decision on whether to buy or wait. I know it's a bit expensive in the NW side, so cash flow is harder to find. Any investors in this area, I would greatly appreciate your time and advise. 

@Paul L Harast Jr you should reach out to @Brie Schmidt . She works with a lot of buyers on the north side, and she also runs a meetup that meets the third Tuesday of each month. Meetups are the perfect way to meet LOTS of investors, and you can often times learn an incredible amount from the more experienced folks there. 

Quick history, I just graduated college and have my 1st big boy job. Looking to find a multi unit property that will be my primary residence for under 350K. I already have a real estate agent, already pre approved. I just want to speak with people who own multi units to see if I'm getting myself a good deal or not. Also, just to network and learn from their experience. I already put an offer on a multi unit, but I got out bid, so I'm using those time to hopefully be guided in the right direction by a seasoned investor. 

@Paul L Harast Jr - You need to determine what your REI goals are, both long term and short term. Once you know what you want to accomplish, you can bounce your thoughts off of others.