Best way to maximize my privileged situation... overwhelmed

21 Replies

Long story short, will have about 100k. I have ZERO experience but want to get started ASAP. I have a burning desire to own multi-family properties but don't know where to start. I've listened to a lot of podcasts, i understand most the concepts, i look around the MLS and loop net for fun... and i have a lot of free time, so i dont need to hire property managers at first. I would do this full time if i knew how.

Not sure if i should learn how to flip... is that too risky for a noob? should i simply put 20%-50% down on a Multi fam building... FHA with 10% down on a mil building... ? is that possible to be cash flow positive on? Should i do a light rehab... should i BRRRR? should i house hack and try to live for free... Very overwhelmed and in such a privileged situation and really don't want to blow it. I want to make this a REAL life changing situation...

What would you do if you were me... (28, male, self-employed, introvert) 

@Mason B. i would take 3-5% of that money if not more on education. I can tell you from the school of hard knocks that is always better to learn as much as possible before starting.

Then when you are educated put a team together. Connect with quality contractors, lawyers, CPAs, realtors, and lenders. $100k is a lot but not enough to do everything yourself.

Plus, needing financing for your first few deals will hopefully prevent you picking up bad deals. The lender doesn't want to give you money on a lemon.

Then start making offers on multis. Let me know if this helps.

Andy

Originally posted by @Andy Nathan :

@Mason Barnard i would take 3-5% of that money if not more on education. I can tell you from the school of hard knocks that is always better to learn as much as possible before starting.