1950s house flip with 6.5-7ft. ceiling

10 Replies

Hi! I'm new to real estate and starting to look for my first house flip. I recently looked at a property that looks good and checks all the boxes other than the ceilings on the second level of the home being very short. I am worried the home will be hard to sell once renovated. Do short ceilings cause conflicts for people purchasing the home? should I shy away from this one?

I think it really depends on your market. Older homes do tend to have lower ceilings, (maybe people were shorter back then) But if you are in a hot neighborhood or market. They will still sell like hot cakes! 

Any idea why these ceilings are short?  Can they be raised?  I have one house where the ceilings are shorter than normal (probably 7 feet tall).  This is a rental though.  Interestingly, tenants don't mind as this helps with the utility costs.  The two young men who currently rent this are quite tall (both over six feet) and did ask if the ceiling fans could be replaced with flush mounted ceiling lights as they were worried about bumping into the fans.  I have friends who rent apartments converted in very old homes in our "Old Towne" area that have 10-12 foot ceilings and very large, older windows.  They love the look but often comment that their utility costs of heating and cooling are very, very high.

Promotion
NestEgg
Smarter rental management
Outperform your peers by 71%
NestEgg landlords save $6,960/yr in fees & 20 hrs/mo*. Self-manage for free or go hands-off for $29.
Start now, get $500