Hiring workers to do a rehab and pricing

9 Replies

Hi guys,

I'm curious as to how the pros go about hiring workers and what are the average rates you pay?

Do you usually hire a "company" to do the rehabs? or do you have a trusted contractor that you keep using? Do you pay your workers per job or per hour? For a handyman type of worker how much do you pay per hour?

Thanks!

I'm a general contractor so I might only have info from what I would pay guys. Here's a rough breakdown. You could hire one general contractor and have him give you a total material and labor price. If you act as general, I would get sub contractor for each trade and get three bids per each project you want. If you decide to hire workers you could look at. If you'd like average numbers, use homewyse.com to get a area low to high number. I don't always trust that because paying more then high average for a really good contractor is worth it in my opinion.

$10-15 laborer
$15-30 carpenter
$25-35 finish carpenter
$50-100 plumber/electrician/hvac

I am aware that in some areas a license is required and in my area they are not. We attempt to hire individuals who have several skills and do quality work. We have them bid on the job and have a written scope of work that we both sign on to. We have them prove proof of insurance, sign waivers, independent contractor agreements and waiver of liens. Getting the work done at a reasonable price is part of the profit, you can't afford to pay retail prices. We become the General Contractor and hire individuals. Prices vary by region and many improvements do no require permits. Food for thought.

I've written a lot about this (trying searching the site), but there is really no "average"...you find that contractor pricing will tend to vary by:

- Type of contractor

- Skill of contractor

- Your negotiation skills

- Time of year

- Whether the contractor is a sub or GC

- Etc...