Have too Much Cash Not enough Credit

10 Replies

My client wants short-term gains. Either want to fix and flip or fix rent and then flip to avoid capital gains taxes. He has a Non-Profit entity he inherited (Ido not believe this can easily be used for RE Investing idk)

His problem: New to buying properties and I am a new realtor. He has 180k$ cash but like a 600 credits score.

Question:

Is there a good way to purchase fixer-uppers and use a HELOC to finance the rehabs? This way he can have two or more properties going? Will they only loan according to the purchase amount or do they appraise the land?

The home in mind is a REO- if he buys it now he has to be an Owner Occupant for a year. If he waits until its open to investors he could flip it and run the risk of a multiple-bid escalation. Hence the question: if he buys and HELOC, is that a way to buy more properties with limited cash (180k$) or are there other ways..... In haste

I'm still a bit confused on your HELOC scenario, are you basically saying that if he ties up most or all of his $180k cash buying and/or rehabbing the first home, you'd want to get a line of credit based on the value of that first home purchased for cash, thus to use the HELOC funds to buy and/or rehab more houses?

As far as the owner-occupant only periods they'll often put REO's up for sale for at first, be very careful on that front. From what I've heard, they're pretty wise to all sorts of attempts to get around that owner-occ period by investors and will have you sign whatever iron clad docs stating that you will be actually occupying the home for whatever period of time after purchasing it and if you violate that, you can get in all sorts of trouble (financially at least)

That's right, he can't get a 203k on this REO to finance the rehab so it will eat up almost 150k. Leaving 30k for another investments.