Is investing in vinyl siding worth it?

31 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets community!

im not sure if this question fits in this topic, but i wasnt sure where else to put it (sorry im a noob!)

I own a 2 family home in Buffalo NY (Black Rock neighborhood, to anyone thats familiar) The home was purchased at 50k in 2010. The front and the back of the house are vinyl, and both sides are wood. The wood is in bad need of a paint job. I was considering investing in vinyl (most of the homes getting rehabbed in Buffalo have vinyl unless they are in historical neighborhoods). I was quoted by one of my tenants who is a roofer that the cost would be about $6400 to do the two sides which would include facia, soffits and framing all the windows of which there are 13. He said it would be "double 4 inch siding, about 10 squares".

Now this is a lot of money for me. I wanted to know if a) is this a reasonable price b) is this a good investment? will i recoup this when i sell the home possibly in 5-10 years? and c) is this generally much more than painting?

thanks in advance!

. . .  have you gotten an estimate for having it painted?   if the paint is in disrepair, you probably should expect that the city will give you a hard time and require that it be remedied before they renew your CofO.  At least, that's been my experience with my properties in Rochester.   

In my experience, vinyl siding might cost more in the short term, but it's better long term.  As a buyer, I much prefer homes that are vinyl sided to paint because of the ongoing maintenance that paint brings.

-Dave

The one thing I can contribute to this question is to tell you about what happened to the house with vinyl siding down the street from my parents.