First time flipper worried about finances

16 Replies

Hi all -
I am a rookie real estate investor who purcahsed her first two rentals this year. The rentals have been great and the cash flow is awesome. However, I REALLY want to get into fix and flips.
I've had my eye on an up and coming neighborhood for some time and a SF just popped up for sale last week. I have $50K cash available. The asking price is $49K (the house beside this one sold for $133K in 2009 so I think this could be a good buy). I can manage the purchase on my own (as long as I don't get out bid by another investor) but don't know where I will come up with the money to do all the fixes needed (the most pressing is it needs a new roof). It is habitable so I could rent for the short term to give me the opportunity to save up some cash to afford the repairs. Any other suggestions? I am new to all of this so I am unfamiliar with the other financing options out there. Let me know your thoughts. Thank you in advance.

Hi @Account Closed  !

Congrats on pulling the trigger on two rentals! What's the urgency to flip so soon? Why don't you continue to save and then go for the rehab when you have enough funds? No need to over extend yourself. Time is on your side, you're in the driver's seat.

Cheers,

Jordan

2009 is irrelevant. Lots of places still sold then for 2x what they do now. Find some recent comps to make sure you are still in the right ball park. How long are houses in that area taking to sell usually? If you are looking at 10-20k for repairs it might be better to get it done right away. Renting as a second exit strategy is nice to have in your back pocket, but if your goal is to flip and this purchase is going to tap out your nest egg then maybe you could just use a home equity line of credit so you can do another deal when this one sells? Cash flowing rents are good, but they take a while to rebuild the pot. Do the numbers work to rent it if you put the renovation money in at the beginning?