Viability of Flipping in Expensive Neighborhoods

23 Replies

This was a question posed to me via PM that I wanted to share for the entire community and welcome feedback and questions from everybody interested in the topic.

"Hi, Will

Thanks for sharing your valuable experience at the forum-- I have been learning a lot from you. I am a newbie in the flipping business and I have a basic question about the viability of this strategy in more expensive neighborhood: I live in the south bay area and the medium price here is somewhere between $500k~$1M depending on the exact area, and the market is very competitive and price appreciation has been a norm on for a while and a lot of areas are already way above the pre-crash highs.

You are in a market that's similar to mine. So I am wondering, how you find deals in your area for flips? How can I know flipping is even a viable strategy in my market?

I would appreciate any advice that helps a newbie to explore this direction. Thank you!"

The only market I would consider not viable for flipping is during a downturn. With that said, highly competitive markets make it more difficult to find acquisitions that make sense. So you must find a niche target, strategy, marketing plan, or even all of the above to succeed. While that is not very specific, it is difficult to do so being that every area, every market, and every investor is so different so there are a million answers.

Direct marketing over the MLS is key, having or building great relationships with top agents and brokers is helpful, and building a strong performance record is also very helpful. Making your offers stronger through limited to no contingencies, all cash, and quick closings help tremendously as does performing on those promises.