New to forum & flipping - also a couple Q's

9 Replies

Hi All,

My name is Chris and I live in the Boston area and am new to flipping and this forum. I just started reading J Scott's Flipping Houses Book, and have ambitions of flipping houses some day. Currently I am a business consultant and would like to do flipping on the side. I am perusing the forums now and have a couple of random questions on flipping houses:

For people that flip houses reguarly, what are the main reosurces you use to find potential houses to flip? Websites, real estate brochures, driving around etc?

Two common themes I am seeing are you have to buy the house at the right price, and you have to have good contractors. Is there somewhere on the web, or maybe even this forum, where people in certain regions can share good/bad experiences with certain contractors?

Is there a good or bad season to start flipping a house (ie houses are cheaper during this time of year, or they sell more during this time of year etc)?

Thanks for reading and happy to be a part of the community here!

Hi Chris, welcome to BP.

This is a great place to learn. Make sure to listen to all the BP podcasts, read the articles on the main blog and be active in these forums to learn a ton very quickly about any topic in real estate you want to know more about.

This is also a great place to meet people that can be assets to your business. Lots of great connections all over but we also have a very strong and active contingent here in MA on here so make sure to find them (Set up some keyword alerts to find out about local topics) and get connected.