What to do with strange room

15 Replies

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here and am looking at doing my first flip. The only reason why I haven't jumped on the property I've been looking at is that I can't figure out what to do with this strange room.  It's an angled room with a load bearing wall on either side. The house is in the $120's and there isn't a huge budget to go moving weight bearing walls, so I just can't figure out what to do with this weird triangular wall. Has anyone ever seen something like this or have any ideas?

It butts up to the kitchen, so even if I could afford to remove one of the walls, then the kitchen would still be there and be angled. And I couldn't really move the kitchen out as that would make it a crazy big kitchen which the neighborhood doesn't really support.

I tried to do a rough sketch. Any suggestions/ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Make current dining room part of the living room and remove on wall to make big eat-in kitchen. 

If kitchen doesn't need a remodel or that isn't in the budget,  stage it like a sun room,  rec room,  library/sitting room. 

Whatever works best for the neighborhood/demographic. 

I agree 100% with @Michael Herr .  

I was thinking a sun room, child play area (while parent in the kitchen) or an office.

Save that wall is likely still bearing, so you will need to leave some structure in-place.  

Office/play area are what immediately came to mind.

@Wendy Shoda   all good ideas I was thinking maybe move the laundry area to that space and have it become a laundry/mud room. Perhaps moving the laundry may not be feasible though.