Flipping - Taxes

20 Replies

I might be missing something but when I do calculations for potential flips, such as 70/30. The numbers work, but when I take into account taxes I would have to pay on my gross profit (purchase price - sale price) it does not make sense to flip. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Taxes are based on your net income, which is less than sale - purchase.  More like sale - sales costs - costs of rehab - purchase costs - purchase costs.  Costs of rehab includes any money costs, too.  But once you get to that taxable income number then, yeah, you pay federal, state and local taxes on it, just like income from a job.  And you have to pay both halves of SET (self employment tax.)

Jon Holdman, Flying Phoenix LLC

Thanks so much for your fast post!

I am not a tax expert, but I am going through this right now with my CPA. 

Jon is correct in that you pay taxes on your NET income, not your GROSS income. In other words, you subtract out all costs associated with the acquisition, rehab and sale of the property. The taxes are still quite high since you have to pay income tax and self employment tax on the net profit. 

A good way to shield some of that self employment tax is to set your business up as an S Corp and pay yourself a salary. Then, you only have to pay the self employment tax on the salary you give yourself. You do still have to pay income tax on all of the profit.

Like I said before, I am no expert and you should consult with an accountant before making any decisions on how to structure your business.

Depending on your personal situation, the S-corp approach may or may not be useful.  You're still required to pay yourself a "reasonable" salary and that's still subject to SET.  So, if you're making a lot doing flips, enough to cover the reasonable salary and then have money left, it will help.