Working with realtors and the house hunt

23 Replies

Question for you experienced rehabbers out there that work with realtors... I found a couple of realtors that look promising, but am worried that looking at such a large amount of houses won't be cool. I read about the "100 house" thing in J. Scott's book, and I want to look at as many as possible, but won't a realtor get pretty angry if you're dragging them to look at tons of properties and having them write up multiple low offers for home after home until one is accepted.... I mean they work on commission, I don't think I'd like that if I was a realtor... I think I'm going to just get my license eventually, but must work with a realtor for my first couple of deals.

So is there a workaround for this? I plan to drive my farm area once I move, get a feel for things, but aside from stalking houses alone and not getting to see much of the inside, how do those of you who work with realtors deal with this? I know it must be an issue...

I thought about contacting listing agents directly for some properties, but then I learned I'd run into a legal catch-22 where the listing agent would expect to represent me, etc... 

Thoughts? 

If your looking to see 100 houses per purchase & sending in many low ball offers I would recommend getting a license. Most Realtors would not be willing to work with you.

(myself included)

This is not too say your plan is a bad one, it is just a very ineffective use of the Realtors time so anyone with a decent book of business would not be interested.

You may be able to find some new Realtors hard up for business but you should be very honest and up front about your intentions, it is the right thing to do.