Is it less expensive to rehab in less expensive markets?

4 Replies

Newbie here from L.A.  Obviously expensive to start flipping here, so considering starting in less expensive markets.  Here's what I don't get...  In browsing other markets, I often see wholesale listings that need 10k to 20k worth of work.  I never see this in L.A.  Everything needs at least 50k worth of work.  Here's my question: Doesn't it cost (more or less) the same amount of money to rehab a 3bd house in a less expensive market as it would in L.A?  It makes sense to dump 50k or more into a house if you're buying it for 500k and selling it for 700k, but how can you do that with a house you buy for 80k?  Not like you're going to turn around and sell it for 280k in that market.  Anyone shed some light?  Thanks.  

I don't know the LA market, Andrew. But I imagine it has alot of good areas, and bad areas, but from what I have heard it has a lot more "expensive" housing vs many other areas of the USA; in particular the midwest. With higher price point properties....you do usually spend more making a house nicer.

With high end homes...you have to do what I call a "class A" finish out. I am not talking about mansions here - just homes in nicer neighborhoods where 2 working professionals (a couple) might live...AKA an upper middle class neighborhood. In those areas - you have to do crown molding, granite in the kitchen & bathrooms, nicer carpet with thicker pad, nicer cabinets, etc to be able to maximize your ROI. So in nicer neighborhoods...yes, you spend more money on rehabs.