Tenant Renovation?

13 Replies

Hi Everyone,

Wanted to get some expert opinions.

I just purchased a SFR in Fresno (Clovis actually) with the fix and lease option route. Someone's interested in taking it as is and doing the renovations themselves.

That strategy makes me nervous since I won't really have control and they'll be doing what they want. And if they don't follow through with the option for whatever reason, they'll have more invest and more incentive for legal action for something.

Anyone do this route and can share why it could work? 

Thanks.

Allen

Are you offering it as a rent-to-own property?  Id be a bit leery if they were just renters.  Anything other than paint could get expensive to undo if they are not professionals and they jack it all up.  But if they are planning to buy it then Id say they are much less likely to bail on you once they have their own money invested.

I'm no expert in this field, but if they want to fix up a property for you - why not?

Just make sure it's up to code, unless it's minor stuff, and cover yourself legally via a contract so they have no recourse for the 'upgrades.'

Either way, whether they make the upgrades or not, having invested anything in the property will be an incentive to pursue the legal route. 

I haven't invested in the Lease w/Option to Purchase field, so take this as a gut feeling.

I would stipulate that if the tenant/purchaser plans on making any improvements for which your city requires permits, that the tenant/purchaser go through the permit+inspection process.  That way, if he makes substantial changes to electrical/plumbing/structural items and ends up moving out, you'll be assured those "improvements" were actually improvements and not liabilities.