Where to Start.

7 Replies

I am new to biggerpockets and so far I am loving the wealth of information that is on this site. I have attended a few webinars and those are great as well.

Me and my wife want to start flipping homes but I just don't know where we should start first. Is it better to get your private lenders set up first? Or should you find your contractor first?

Does the order really matter as long as you cover all of your basis?

Any help would be much appreciated.

@Chris Marvel Welcome to BP!  I've found a mix of getting contractor referrals and lender referrals is great as you seek to find the first good deal. Know your market so you will ID a good buy when it comes up.  "Build it and he will come."  Find that deal and lenders and such tend to appear!  

• Start with knowing where to get private money lenders, build a list.
  • Second, find a property you can get under contract and meets your criteria (i.e. 70% of ARV minus repair costs for instance).
  • Third, create your Deal Analysis Report detailing the cost, repairs, ARV and your down payment.
  • Fourth, submit your Deal Analysis Report to various lenders from your list in step one and negotiate a deal with them to close on the property.
  • Fifth, after closing, contact some contractors to bid on repairs.
  • Sixth, get your RE agent to market the property 2 weeks before work completion.
  • Plan for contingencies and holding costs as well as alternate exit strategies.

Hope this helps.

@Chris Marvel

Welcome to BP!

While you will definitely need to line up funding I think the harder part is finding reliable contractors that  you are comfortable with.  

1. I spent a lot of time putting a crew together before the first project.  I actually did a huge remodel / poptop on my primary residence and formed up a lot of my initial crew on that project.