I am a Residential Builder and GC- I only do speculation houses(no customers)need advice.

11 Replies

Need advice, I am looking to grow, and am having a hard time figuring out what to do. Do I hire a GC to run the flip houses? I have always done it myself, but since I can't be two places at once, not sure how to run job. I find the properties( I have my realtors license), design the layout, open walls, etc. I have my own subs, so when I have 1,2,3 or 4 flips at once, what is my best way to manage the houses( always did 1 at a time), I also need help with how to manage my new construction builds? Also, how to compensate for such services? I want to grow and have always done everything by myself. Also looking to buy an apartment building 21 units. This year probably going to do $3M+ flips, new construction. So what is step1,2, etc.? Any advice from people who are in a similar situation or are running larger scenarios, would be greatly appreciated.

Hire a project manager, pay him salary/commission to align incentives and let him handle the day-to-day construction management.

@Christopher Ilvento  We are basically in the same boat. We have a family business. One of us is a broker/contractor, I'm a general contractor/agent, my son is an agent/architectural designer, our son in law is a licensed electrical contractor. 

Right now we run everything on our jobs ourselves, from concept through build out. However; in order to scale up, we have to reorganize. Finding land and figuring out the projects is the most valuable, and we need more time for that. Therefore; we need to hire a bookkeeper and an office person for administrative duties to get out from under that, as it sucks up too much time. Finding someone that can handle all the permitting process would really be a huge help too. We used to have all of this ironed out and running very efficiently, but then relocated to a new area and are rebuilding business. 

Maybe some of the others can weigh in. @Lynn Currie