Flooring options

10 Replies

I am rehabbing my first rental(buy & hold). It curr has Berber carpet - bit worn out. Looking at suggestions on whether to go with laminate or engineered hardwood. I don't want to spend extra for actual hardwood. Have apprx 1200 sq ft to be replaced. Is there a thumb rule that one improves the actual value of the house compared to another? Want to evaluate from long term + premium on rental. I have menards, lowes and Home Depot nearby. Are these the places to look for the flooring or should I evaluate somewhere else too? Suggestions / recommendations please. Thanks.

I just put in a vinyl plank and I am very happy with how it looks, but I don't know how well it will wear.

I was a manager at Home Depot for years and understand these products. If you are looking for durability for tenants go with laminate. It is very durable. I have had mine in my rental for 8 yrs and it still looks new.

If you are looking for resale and the neighborhood has hard wood then go with hard wood. Engineered is a cheap hard wood in my opinion. Hardwood and engineered scratch easy and will have to be resurfaced after a few years. 

You cannot resurface laminate only replace the board.

The vinyl planks are a newer product that came out about 10 yrs ago. They weren't really intended for the home but for office space with high traffic. I'm not a Big fan for putting this in a home because it looks cheap but in a C or D apartment I may consider it.

Common problem!

The good news is that both laminate and engineered hardwood have vastly improved in the last few years. The selection, quality, and pricing has improved dramatically.